Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together – Vincent Van Gogh

make me a rose

make me a rose, from the grit on the road,

make me a rose, from where a million feet trod,

make me a rose, of fragrant pink

big, crisp petals of velvet silk.

 

make me a rose, a piece of your soul

make me a rose, from the dirt of coal

make me a rose, textured in sweat and labour

niggling, ghostly memories twirl and clamber.

 

make me a rose, i can put by my bed

make me a rose, that breaths in my head

make me a rose, a flower of thought

great big bubbles of putrid vapours, rot.

 

make me a rose, before the lights go out

make me a rose, from thunder bouts

make me a rose, that fills my arm

in confusion and crowd, search for calm.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

