Great things are not done by impulse, but by a series of small things brought together – Vincent Van Gogh

Lourdes Convent High School

Lourdes Convent High School

She stood, solid, high and cold,

Yellow on brown,

The innumerable doors,

To the chapel and hall,

And the prim little parlour on the first floor corner.

Large potted plants, green and alive,

Even in silence, you hear children’s screams,

Echo through the corridors.

Skittering past.

Smiles come to mind, Ms. Judith Pereira, Ms Epherem, Mrs Amita Salatry

The stern face of Mrs Naik,

The mild harried face of Ms Shirley,

The portly Mrs Mendonca,

Oh how can I forget her?

I scored the highest in the school for English.

Time flies but memories remain of bright big roses in the garden,

Nostalgic melancholy of black moss,

An unused swing,

Of mooing cows you dashed past to the toilet,

The persistent smell of putrid methane.

Of crowds of girls, falling over each other,

Rallying for the Republicans and Democrats.

Then I stood in wonder,

Now, I continue to wonder.

Cinderella in a white dress, I had sown on the stars myself,

The flower arrangement I won the first prize for,

Oh where are those hankies.

The mystery smells from the laboratory,

The skeleton in the glass case,

The chocolate cake I baked myself for my classmates

And the tears that flowed on the last day of school.

Can you locate me?

Can you locate me?

Today (24th September 2008) I happened to visit my school, Lourdes Convent High School, Saligao site on Facebook. The pictures there brought on this poem. I also managed to come across a beautiful black and white picture of myself in Upper Kindergarten as we called it then. This picture dates back to 1983 it seems, or maybe I should just stop and calculateJ

Comments on: "Lourdes Convent High School" (3)

  1. Desmond Franco said:

    Now this is wat i call pleasant memories….I feel soo nostalgic Lillian goin tru your beautifully written story of our second home,Lourdes Convent….it brings tears to my eyes thinking of the good old days we all shared in school….

    Keep up your good work……..God bless u

  2. Elizabeth D'souza said:

    Lillian, you have described everything so perfectly. You have captured each and every detail of our beautiful school. You brought back such pleasant memories back to life, while I read, that I wanted to go back to those lovely years. I still remember your chocolate cake.

    You have done a Great job.

    Thanks for reliving the past.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

